SEC players on Hall of Fame ballot

The National Football Foundation has announced 77 players and five coaches who are on this year's ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame, and the SEC is well represented.

Below are the candidates who played or coached at current SEC schools:

  • Brandon Burlsworth, OG, Arkansas: 1998 first-team All-America and first-team All-SEC selection … Helped Arkansas to two postseason berths and to SEC Western Division titles in 1995 and ’98 … Former walk-on who later started 34 consecutive games.

  • Tony Franklin, PK, Texas A&M: Two-time first-team All-America (1976-consensus, ’78) … Led A&M to four bowl appearances … Set seven NCAA records, including most 50 yards-plus field goals made (15) and most points scored by a kicker in a career (291).

  • Leotis Harris, OG, Arkansas: 1977 consensus first-team All-America who led Razorbacks to wins in the 1976 Cotton Bowl and ’78 Orange Bowl … First African-American All-American player at Arkansas … Led Arkansas to 1975 SWC co-championship.

  • Bobby Majors, DB, Tennessee: 1971 unanimous first-team All-America … Led Vols to wins in 1971 Sugar Bowl and 1972 Liberty Bowl … Holds school records for punt returns in a career (117 for 1163 yards, 4 TDs) and season (42 for 457 yards, 2 TDs).

  • Buddy McClinton, DB, Auburn: Three-time All-American who earned consensus first team honors in 1969 … Auburn’s all-time leader in interceptions (18) and holds record for interceptions in a season (9 in 1969) … Set SEC career interception record (18).

  • Paul Naumoff, LB, Tennessee: Named first-team All-America and all-conference in 1966 … Named team MVP in 1966 … Played in the College All-Star Game and Senior Bowl in 1967.

  • Sterling Sharpe, WR, South Carolina: 1987 first-team All-America … Two-time first- team all-conference … Set nearly every school receiving record by career’s end, including career receptions (169), single-season receiving yards (1,106) and career receiving yards (2,497).

  • Art Still, DE, Kentucky: 1977 Unanimous first-team All-American … Two-time first-team All-SEC performer who led Cats to 1976 SEC championship … 1977 SEC Defensive Player of the Year who set school record with 22 TFL in 1977 (still standing).

  • Matt Stinchcomb, OT, Georgia: Two-time first-team All-America selection (consensus-’98) … Two-time first-team All-SEC and 1998 recipient of Jacobs Blocking Trophy … 1998 NFF William V. Campbell Trophy recipient and NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

  • Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama: 1988 unanimous first-team All-America and Butkus award winner… Led Tide to four consecutive bowl berths, earning 1988 SEC Defensive Player of the Year … Set SEC record for sacks in a season (27) and finished career with 74 TFL.

  • Jackie Walker, LB, Tennessee: 1970 and ’71 first-team All-American … Set NCAA record for career interceptions returned for TD by a linebacker (5) … Two-time first-team All-SEC selection who helped Vols to 1969 SEC championship.

  • Wesley Walls, TE, Ole Miss: 1988 first-team All-America and first-team All-SEC selection … Played as a two-way player his senior season (DE-TE) … Tallied 36 receptions for 426 yards and three touchdowns in one season at tight end … 1988 NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

  • Scott Woerner, DB, Georgia: Named first-team All-America, all-conference and team Most Valuable Back in 1980 … Twice named Georgia’s Outstanding Special Teams Player of the Year (1977, 1980) … Led team to the 1980 national championship.

  • Danny Wuerffel, QB, Florida: 1996 winner of NFF Campbell Trophy, Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp, Maxwell, and consecutive Davey O’Brien awards … Two-time SEC Player of the Year who led Gators to 1996 national championship and four SEC championships.

  • Jim Carlen: Coach at West Virginia (1966-69), Texas Tech (1970-74) and South Carolina (1975-1981). Led teams to eight bowl games and 13 winning seasons in 16 years as head coach … 1973 National Coach of the Year …Three-time Southwest Conference Coach of the Year … Coached Heisman Trophy winner George Rogers at South Carolina.