Five from SEC on Lott Trophy watch list

The preseason watch lists are already starting to show up, which means the 2013 season can't be too far away.

Five players from the SEC are among the 42 nominees on the Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list. They are Vanderbilt linebacker Chase Garnham, Tennessee linebacker A.J. Johnson, Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, Ole Miss linebacker D.T. Shackelford and Kentucky linebacker Avery Williamson.

Named after Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy goes to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. It's the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o was the 2012 winner.

What's surprising about the initial 2013 Lott Trophy watch list is who wasn't on it from the SEC -- South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney.