SEC players dot Lombardi, Butkus lists

The opening of SEC media days isn't the only news of the day. Two more college football award watch lists debuted Monday, and the SEC is a major player on both.

Thirteen of the 123 watch list honorees for the Lombardi Award, which is given annually to the top lineman or linebacker, are from the conference. Likewise, nine of the 51 nominees for the Butkus Award, which goes to the top linebacker, are SEC players.

Here are the full lists of SEC nominees:


G A.J. Cann, South Carolina

OT La'el Collins, LSU

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn

DE Trey Flowers, Arkansas

LB Leonard Floyd, Georgia

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

DT Chris Jones, Mississippi State

OG Arie Kouandjio, Alabama

LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

DT Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

OT Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M

DE A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia


Trey DePriest, Alabama

Leonard Floyd, Georgia

Kris Frost

Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

Braylon Mitchell, Arkansas

Reggie Ragland, Alabama

Ramik Wilson, Georgia