Inside the numbers: Bumgarner vs. Syndergaard

The predicted pitching duel between Madison Bumgarner and Noah Syndergaard lived up to its billing on Wednesday night.

And Bumgarner and the San Francisco Giants came out the victors.

The Giants advance to the National League Division Series to face the Chicago Cubs. Game 1 is Friday. San Francisco went 3-4 against the Cubs this season, including 1-3 at Wrigley Field.

ESPN Stats & Information takes a look at the numbers in Wednesday's pitching showdown during the National League wild-card game at Citi Field in New York:

The Giants are the first team to win two wild-card games, and both were started by Bumgarner. It was his third career postseason shutout and second in a winner-take-all game (2014 NL wild-card game), making him the first pitcher in postseason history with multiple shutouts in winner-take-all games. Bumgarner finished his sixth career postseason start without allowing a run, tying Tom Glavine for most such starts all time.

The Giants move to 8-0 in postseason road games when Bumgarner appears in the game and 6-0 when he starts.

Bumgarner lowered his career road postseason ERA to 0.50, the lowest in MLB history (minimum of 25 innings pitched).

The Giants have now won nine consecutive postseason games when facing elimination. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, that passes the Kansas City Royals for the longest streak in postseason history.

On the other side, Syndergaard had a solid outing for the New York Mets, despite not coming away with the win. Syndergaard didn't allow a hit through 5⅔ innings, before yielding a single to Denard Span. It was the second-longest no-hit bid of Syndergaard’s career (regular season or postseason). It was also the second-longest no-hit bid in Mets postseason history, according to the Elias Sports Bureau. Jerry Koosman threw six no-hit innings in Game 2 of the 1969 World Series against the Baltimore Orioles. Paul Blair broke up that no-no bid with a single to lead off the seventh inning.

Syndergaard finished with 10 strikeouts, which was a postseason career high. He became the youngest pitcher, at 24, in postseason history with 10 strikeouts in a winner-take-all game.

Wednesday night was the first winner-take-all postseason game in which both starting pitchers pitched seven-plus scoreless innings since Game 7 of 1991 World Series (John Smoltz vs. Jack Morris).

So how did the Giants get the win?

Conor Gillaspie hit a three-run home run in the ninth inning, becoming the sixth player in postseason history to homer in the ninth or later to break a scoreless tie. He is the third player in postseason history to hit a go-ahead homer out of the 8-hole in the ninth inning or later of a winner-take-all game. The other two are a couple of the most famous homers in postseason history: Aaron Boone's in the 2003 American League Championship Series, and Bill Mazeroski's in the 1960 World Series.