Numbers to know: Women's title game

Connecticut used a 21-1 run in the first half to pull away from Louisville and win its eighth national championship. Here are some numbers to know from the Huskies' 93-60 win Tuesday night in New Orleans:

8 -- UConn’s eight national titles are tied with Tennessee for the most in women’s NCAA history. The only college basketball program -- men’s or women’s -- to win more national championships is the UCLA men with 11.

11 -- Connecticut improves to 8-0 in national championship games. Combined with the men’s team, UConn basketball programs are a perfect 11-0 in NCAA title games.

How impressive is that? Only one other school has won men’s and women’s titles without ever suffering a loss in the title game: Maryland is 2-0, with the men and women winning one title each.

Freshmen to Win Most Outstanding Player
Women’s Final Four

23 -- Breanna Stewart scored 23 points, the most by a Connecticut freshman in a championship game. She is the fourth freshman to be named most outstanding player.

33 -- The 33-point win is by far the largest margin of victory in a women’s NCAA championship game. The previous record was 23 points by Tennessee over Louisiana Tech in 1987.

93 -- The 93 points scored by UConn are tied for the second-most ever scored in a women’s title game. The record is 97 by Texas against USC in 1986.

13 -- UConn made 13 shots from beyond the arc in the win, breaking the record for most 3-pointers made in a title game. The previous record of 11 was set by Stanford in 1990.

9 -- The Big East has nine national titles, the most of any conference in women’s history. The SEC is second with eight championships, all won by Tennessee.

51 -- UConn outscored Louisville 51-19 on field goals attempted outside the paint, making 51 percent of its shots. Louisville shot 18 percent outside the paint, with its leading scorer, Shoni Schimmel, going 2-for-13.

5 -- The fifth-seeded Cardinals were trying to become the lowest seed to win the women's national championship. In fact, no team seeded fourth or lower has ever won the title.