Murray the one to thwart Djokovic's serve

Glyn Kirk/AFP/Getty Images

Andy Murray had a lot to be excited about in his victory.

It was a long time coming for Andy Murray, who finally won his first Wimbledon. Let’s run through some of the highlights of his victory on Sunday morning over Novak Djokovic.

The champ

Murray became the first Gentleman from Great Britain to win Wimbledon since Fred Perry in 1936.

Murray has now won two of the last three Grand Slams he’s played, with both wins being over Djokovic.

Last Native Men's Champion
At Each Grand Slam

Murray joined Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Djokovic and Lleyton Hewitt as the fifth active player with multiple Grand Slam titles.

It was Murray’s 18th straight grass-court match win. He’s 8-11 vs Djokovic, but 2-0 against him on grass courts.

One reason Murray won, he broke Djokovic's serve seven times.

Entering the final, Djokovic had held serve 94 percent of the time (95 of 101). Murray won almost half of Djokovic's service games (7 of 16) and won more than 40 percent of Djokovic's first-serve points, which is very impressive considering the fact Murray had won 31 percent of first-serve return points entering the final.

This marked the second straight year that the Wimbledon champ had to come back from a 2-0 deficit earlier in the tournament. Roger Federer did so last year.

Djokovic was the only top-15 seed that Murray beat en route to winning the title (Djokovic's last four matches were all vs top-15 seeds).

The “Big 4” (Federer, Nadal, Djokovic, Murray) have now won 33 of the last 34 Grand Slams (only other winner in that span: Juan Martin del Potro at 2009 US Open).

Djokovic’s defeat

This marked the first time that Djokovic lost a Grand Slam match in straight sets since the 2010 Wimbledon semis against Tomas Berdych.

Novak Djokovic at 2013 Wimbledon

Djokovic had his serve broken seven times during the match. He had it broken only six times at this year’s Wimbledon entering the Final.

Djokovic lost three of his last four Grand Slam Finals (6-5 overall in Grand Slam Finals).

This marked the sixth straight year that the No. 1 seed did not win Wimbledon.

The last was Roger Federer in 2007.

Did You Know

It took Murray eight appearances at Wimbledon to win his first title. The only mens' player to take longer was Goran Ivanisevic, who won in his 14th appearance in 2001.

Murray also became the first player to win his first Wimbledon title the year after reaching his first Final since John McEnroe in 1981.