Top stats to know: Hall of Fame candidates

The Baseball Hall of Fame will be announcing the results of this year’s election on Wednesday at 2 p.m. ET. Here are the top statistical storylines.

• Though no players were elected by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) in 2013, multiple are expected to be inducted this year. The most notable newcomers are Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas. The last time the BBWAA elected at least three players was in 1999 when George Brett, Nolan Ryan and Robin Yount were selected.

Glavine and Maddux as Teammates

• Maddux ranks in the Top 10 all-time in both wins and strikeouts and is a four-time Cy Young Award winner (tied for third-most all-time) and league ERA champ.

He holds the record for most Gold Gloves won for fielding excellence with 18. Maddux is expected to challenge Tom Seaver’s record (98.84 percent) for highest percentage of the vote received.

• Glavine, a teammate of Maddux’s from 1993 to 2003, was a five-time 20-game winner who won Cy Young Awards in 1991 and 1998. He is the fourth-winningest left-handed pitcher in major-league history with 305 wins. Glavine also has a signature postseason moment- eight scoreless innings of one-hit ball in the clinching game of the 1995 World Series (a series in which he won MVP honors).

• Thomas finished his career with 2,468 hits and 521 home runs, the latter of which ranks tied for 18th all-time. He won back-to-back AL MVPs in 1993 and 1994. Thomas ranks as the White Sox's all-time leader in home runs (448), RBIs (1,465) and OPS (.995).

Thomas was a discerning hitter—he’s one of five players with at least 500 home runs, 1,700 RBI and 1,500 walks, along with Barry Bonds, Ted Williams, Mel Ott and Babe Ruth.

• The top returning vote getters from last year’s election are Craig Biggio, who garnered 68 percent of the vote in his first year on the ballot and Jack Morris, who got nearly 67 percent of the vote in his 14th try.

Biggio is one of four players to finish his career with at least 2,500 hits, 250 home runs and 400 home runs. The others are Barry Bonds, Rickey Henderson and Joe Morgan.

Morris was the winningest pitcher of the 1980s (162 victories) and finished in the top five of the Cy Young voting five times. His 3.90 career ERA would be the highest for any pitcher in the Hall of Fame. Morris is best remembered for his 10 scoreless innings in Game 7 of the 1991 World Series, one of four World Series that Morris won. He is the last pitcher to pitch at least 10 innings in a postseason game.

• Neither Barry Bonds nor Roger Clemens is expected to be elected. Bonds, baseball’s all-time home run leader, received 36 percent of the vote in his first year on the ballot last year. Clemens, who ranks third all-time in strikeouts and ninth all-time in wins, received nearly 38 percent of the vote (slightly more than half of what is needed for election).