Top stats to know: Giants win it all, again

The San Francisco Giants have lived up to their team name. They are now one of baseball’s dynasties.

3 World Series titles in five seasons,
MLB history

The Giants won their third World Series in the past five seasons, beating the Kansas City Royals in Game 7.

It took an epic relief effort from Madison Bumgarner, who threw five scoreless innings to clinch a one-run win.

The Giants are the fifth franchise to win three World Series titles in a five-season span, the first since the Yankees won four from 1996 to 2000.

The Giants franchise has won eight times in total, tied with the Red Sox for the fourth-most titles in major league history, trailing only the Yankees (27), Cardinals (11) and Athletics (9).

The history

The Giants became the first road team to win Game 7 of a World Series since the 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Baltimore Orioles.

Giants manager Bruce Bochy won his third World Series titles. He’s the 10th manager to win three World Series. The other nine are all in the Hall of Fame. Bochy and Connie Mack are the only managers to win three titles in a five-year span for a team other than the Yankees.

Most World Series titles all-time

Doing so required the Giants snapping their four-game losing streak in World Series winner-take-all games.

The Giants won 88 regular-season games, the fewest of any champ since the 2006 Cardinals won 83. They joined the 1997 Marlins, 2002 Angels, 2003 Marlins, 2004 Red Sox and 2011 Cardinals as wild-card teams to win the World Series.

The one thing these Giants haven’t done is win two in a row. This is the 14th straight season without a repeat World Series champion, tied for longest such streak all-time (1979 to 1992).

MVP: Who else but Bumgarner?

Bumgarner became the fourth pitcher to win league championship series and World Series MVP in the same postseason, joining Orel Hershiser (1988 Dodgers), Livan Hernandez (1997 Marlins) and Cole Hamels (2008 Phillies).

He’s the third Giants player to win World Series MVP, joining Edgar Renteria (2010) and Pablo Sandoval (2012).

Sandoval not bad either
Most hits in single postseason all-time

Bumgarner was 2-0 with an 0.43 ERA in 21 innings in this World Series.

He's the first pitcher with two wins, a shutout and a save in a World Series since the save rule became official in 1969.

He'a also the first pitcher with two wins, a sub-0.50 ERA in at least 20 innings in a single World Series since legendary lefty Sandy Koufax for the 1965 Dodgers.

Bumgarner logged 52⅔ innings this postseason, the most of any pitcher in a single postseason (topping Curt Schilling’s 48⅓) and had an ERA of 1.03.

Bumgarner has now won three World Series titles. If he were never to pitch in the World Series again, his 0.25 ERA would be the best of anyone with at least 20 innings pitched.