Top stats to know: Gold Glove winners

This year’s Gold Glove Awards, much like last year's, featured both prominent repeat winners and a list of promising newcomers.

NL Gold Glove Award Winners
2014 Season

For the second straight year, a statistical component factored into the voting -- the SABR Defensive Index accounted for 25 percent of the vote. The remaining votes came from major league managers and coaches.

The best get rewarded

Six of the winners led the majors in Defensive Runs Saved: Astros pitcher Dallas Keuchel, Dodgers first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons and outfielders Alex Gordon of the Royals, Juan Lagares of the Mets and Jason Heyward of the Braves.

The competition for the Platinum Glove, given to the best defender in each league, should be tight, particularly in the National League. Heyward led the majors with 32 Defensive Runs Saved. His chief competition may be last year’s NL winner, Simmons, who tied with Lagares for second-most with 28.

Royals, Orioles again have three winners

The two teams that met in the ALCS had the most Gold Glove Award winners, with three apiece.

AL Gold Glove Award Winners
2014 Season

Three of the four Royals who were finalists won: catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Eric Hosmer and leftfielder Alex Gordon. Perez and Hosmer each won for the second time. Gordon won his fourth straight.

Gordon’s four Gold Glove Awards (won the last four years) are the most by a Royals outfielder, surpassing the three won by Amos Otis. Gordon was the AL leader in Defensive Runs Saved for an outfielder. Perez became the only Royals catcher to win multiple Gold Gloves. Hosmer, the only Royals first baseman to win one, joined Perez in taking his second straight.

That trio still has a ways to go to chase down the Royals all-time Gold Glove leader, second baseman Frank White, who won eight.

The Orioles had repeat winners in centerfielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy and a player who’d won previously taking another one, rightfielder Nick Markakis.

Jones became the seventh Orioles player and second Orioles outfielder to win at least four Gold Gloves, joining fellow centerfielder Paul Blair, who won eight, in the latter department.

Hardy, the AL leader in Defensive Runs Saved at shortstop, passed Cal Ripken Jr. for second-most Gold Gloves won by an Orioles shortstop with three, trailing Mark Belanger’s eight.

Markakis won for the second time in four years, having previously won in 2011.

Molina, Pedroia, Gonzalez win again

Even in a season shortened by injury, Yadier Molina won another Gold Glove Award.

This was his seventh straight such honor. Only Johnny Bench and Ivan Rodriguez had longer streaks with 10 each.

Dodgers first baseman Gonzalez won his fourth straight award. He was one of two Dodgers to win on this night, along with first-time winner, pitcher Zack Greinke. Gonzalez is the first Dodgers first baseman to win the award since Steve Garvey in 1977.

Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia won in consecutive years for the first time. He’s now won four Gold Glove Awards. Only two Red Sox have won more: Dwight Evans with eight and Carl Yastrzemski with seven.

Biggest surprise: Kyle Seager

Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager pulled off the most surprising victory of the night, beating out a division rivals Josh Donaldson of the Athletics and Adrian Beltre of the Rangers to win his first Gold Glove Award.

Donaldson led third basemen with 20 Defensive Runs Saved, twice as many as Seager.

But Seager was cited for his overall defensive improvement. He went from minus-7 and minus-8 Defensive Runs Saved at the position the previous two seasons to 10 Defensive Runs Saved there in 2014.

He’s the first Mariners third baseman to win one since Beltre did in 2008.