How Jameis Winston compares to QBs who have been Rookie of Year

Jameis Winston finished his rookie campaign with 4,402 yards on 312 completions, 22 touchdowns and 15 interceptions. AP Photo/Brian Blanco

TAMPA, Fla. -- As the postseason continues, it's about time to start thinking about the postseason awards. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have a prime candidate for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year in quarterback Jameis Winston. The award will be presented at the NFL Honors Awards Show on Feb. 6.

Winston has a chance to become the first Buccaneers player since Carnell "Cadillac" Williams in 2005 to win the award.

Seven quarterbacks have won the award: Pittsburgh's Ben Roethlisberger (2004), Tennessee's Vince Young (2006), Atlanta's Matt Ryan (2008), St. Louis' Sam Bradford (2010), Carolina's Cam Newton (2011), Washington's Robert Griffin III (2012) and Buffalo's Dennis Shaw (1970).

Winston's numbers this season compare to -- and in some cases, surpass -- those of the winners since 2004. Winston threw the most touchdown passes. Only Bradford attempted and completed more passes as a rookie and only Newton threw for more yards. Winston also had the second-highest interception total and the second-lowest completion percentage.

He was one of four award-winners to start a full season as a rookie: Ryan's Falcons went 11-5, Bradford's Rams were 7-9 and both the Panthers and Bucs finished with 6-10 for Newton and Winston, respectively. Roethlisberger didn't start the full season but went 13-0.