Guillermo Rigondeaux stripped of WBA belt, reclassified as 'champion in recess'

Guillermo Rigondeaux, already stripped of one of his two junior featherweight world title belts last week due to inactivity, has also been relieved of his other one for the same reason.

The WBA has followed the decision of the WBO and stripped Rigondeaux of its top-tier 122-pound world title.

"Rigondeaux has not defended or scheduled to defend his title in a timely fashion culminating in only four bouts since September 15, 2012," the WBO wrote in its ruling.

However, "in light of Rigondeaux's impressive record and accomplishments, the delays associated with his various managerial/promoter disputes, and the loss of his unification status (because he was stripped by the WBO)" the WBA reclassified him as a "champion in recess."

According to the WBA's letter, Rigondeaux must next "come out recess" and face Scott Quigg -- the secondary titlist who is now the organization's top titleholder in light of Rigondeaux being stripped -- or whomever holds the title on or before May 1.

The WBA said that England's Quigg has been granted a special permit to face IBF titlist Carl Frampton, of Northern Ireland, in a much-anticipated title unification fight on Feb. 27. That fight was announced Monday.

Rigondeaux (15-0, 10 KOs), 35, who defected and now lives in Miami, won the title by knocking out Rico Ramos in the sixth round in January 2012.

Rigondeaux, a two-time Cuban Olympic gold medalist, made six defenses, including a decision win against Nonito Donaire to unify belts in April 2013.

But Rigondeaux, whose promoter Caribe Promotions does not put on shows and has been unable or unwilling to make a deal with another promoter for Rigondeaux to fight, has not boxed since Dec. 31 in Japan. In that bout, Rigondeaux suffered two knockdowns in the seventh round against unknown Japanese challenger Hisashi Amagasa before rallying for an 11th-round knockout victory.