2023 Kentucky Derby: Updated horse odds, post positions, jockeys

Betting 101: How to bet the Triple Crown (1:56)

Doug Kezirian explains the basics behind betting on the Triple Crown. (1:56)

The 149th running of the Kentucky Derby will take place Saturday at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

Forte, trained by Todd Fletcher, opened as the 3-1 morning-line favorite leaving from the 15 post after Derby post positions were released Monday but then was scratched after a morning workout Saturday. Tapit Trice had the second-shortest morning-line odds at 5-1 from the No. 5 post, while Angel of Empire (8-1) had the third-shortest morning line odds.

Post time for Saturday's 1¼ mile race is 6:57 p.m. ET.

Here is the full list of updated odds for the 2023 Kentucky Derby, in order of post position (with trainer and jockey). Note that No. 9 Skinner, No. 10 Practical Move, No. 19 Lord Miles and No. 20 Continuar also have been scratched, with No. 21 Cyclone Mischief, No. 22 Mandarin Hero and No. 23 King Russell added to the field.

All odds listed are as of Saturday, May 6, at 10:30 a.m. ET according to the official Kentucky Derby website.

1. Hit Show (33-1)
Trainer: Brad Cox Jockey: Manny Franco

2. Verifying (19-1)
Trainer: Brad Cox Jockey: Tyler Gaffalione

3. Two Phil's (8-1)
Trainer: Larry Rivelli Jockey: Jareth Loveberry

4. Confidence Game (20-1)
Trainer: Keith Desormeaux Jockey: James Graham

5. Tapit Trice (6-1)
Trainer: Todd Pletcher Jockey: Luis Saez

6. Kingsbarns (12-1)
Trainer: Todd Pletcher Jockey: Jose Ortiz

7. Reincarnate (15-1)
Trainer: Tim Yakteen Jockey: John Velazquez

8. Mage (20-1)
Trainer: Gustavo Delgado Jockey: Javier Castellano

11. Disarm (27-1)
Trainer: Steve Asmussen Jockey: Joel Rosario

12. Jace's Road (39-1)
Trainer: Brad Cox Jockey: Florent Geroux

13. Sun Thunder (37-1)
rainer: Kenny McPeek Jockey: Brian Hernandez Jr.

14. Angel of Empire (6-1)
Trainer: Brad Cox Jockey: Flavien Prat

16. Raise Cain (37-1)
Trainer: Ben Colebrook Jockey: Gerardo Corrales

17. Derma Sotogake (8-1)
Trainer: Hidetaka Otonashi Jockey: Christophe Lemaire

18. Rocket Can (36-1)
Trainer: Bill Mott Jockey: Junior Alvarado

21. Cyclone Mischief (39-1)
Trainer: Dale Romans Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

22. Mandarin Hero (26-1)

Trainer: Terunobu Fujita Jockey: Kazushi Kimura

23. King Russell (39-1)

Trainer: Ron Moquett Jockey: Rafael Bejarano