Vote: 2007 College Football Awards

The 2007 college football season is winding down, and it's time to start handing out the hardware. Whether it's the Bednarik (for defensive player), Outland (interior lineman), Biletnikoff (wide receiver) or Davey O'Brien (quarterback), we have it covered.

Check out the nominees below, and cast your vote. But give it some thought because your vote will count towards the official tally! That's right. The results of the SportsNation voting will count as one official vote!

To find out the winners, tune in to The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards, (live on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 6, from 7:30-9:30 p.m. ET). Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will host the show which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Voting closes Thursday, Dec. 6 at 5 p.m. ET

Bednarik Award
(Outstanding Defensive Player)
The winner of this award will be in fine company -- Paul Posluszny (2006 and 2005), David Pollack (2004), Teddy Lehman (2003), EJ Henderson (2002), Julius Peppers (2001), Dan Morgan (2000) -- and all three candidates have one thing in common - putting a chill down the spine of offensive players everywhere.

Dan Connor, Penn State: LB 136 tackles (led team), 6.5 sacks and one interception.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU: DT 61 tackles (11.5 for losses), 6.0 sacks.
James Laurinaitis, Ohio State: LB 103 tackles (led team), five sacks, two interceptions.

Click here to vote for the Bednarik Award!

Biletnikoff Award
(Outstanding Wide Receiver)
The Biletnikoff trophy weighs 56 pounds, has won several national awards for design excellence, and is the largest of all the college football position awards. But something tells us these guys can handle it. Previous winners include Calvin Johnson (2006), Mike Hass (2005), Braylon Edwards (2004), Larry Fitzgerald (2003) and Charles Rogers (2002).

Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech: Leads team with 125 REC, 1,861 YDS, and 21 TD.
Mario Manningham, Michigan: Leads team with 67 REC, 1,096 YDS, and 11 TD.
Jordy Nelson, Kansas State: Leads team with 122 REC, 1,606 YDS, and 11 TD.

Click here to vote for the Biletnikoff Award!

Lou Groza Award (Kicker)
The Lou Groza Award is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. He is regarded as the first kicker to be truly considered an offensive weapon. In 2006 the award was won by Arthur Carmody of Louisville.

Jose Martinez, UTEP: Made 85.0% of his FG, 2-4 from 50+, with a long of 57 yards.
Austin Starr, Indiana: Made 90.5% of his FG, with a long of 49 yards.
Thomas Weber, Arizona State: Made 95.2% of his FG, 2-2 from 50+, with a long of 53 yards.

Click here to vote for the Lou Groza Award!

Ray Guy Award (Punter)
Candidates for the Ray Guy Award are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their team with emphasis placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardage and percentage not returned. in 2006 Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda won the award.

Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech: 45.5 yard average, 30 inside the 20, and a long of 77 yds.
Kevin Huber, Cincinnati: 46.9 yard average, 18 inside the 20, and a long of 62 yds.
Brett Kern, Toledo: 46.1 yard average, 17 inside the 20, and a long of 66 yds.

Click here to vote for the Ray Guy Award!

Maxwell Award (Outstanding Player)
The Maxwell Award is given to the most outstanding player in college football. The following candidates led their respective teams through their astonishing play on the field and their leadership. The 2006 recipient of the Maxwell Award was Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn.

Dennis Dixon, Oregon: QB 213.6 passing YPG, 20 TD passes, and 9 rushing TD.
Darren McFadden, Arkansas: RB 1,725 YDS and 15 TD rushing, with 5.7 YPC average.
Tim Tebow, Florida: QB 261.0 passing YPG, 29 TD passes, and 22 rushing TD.

Click here to vote for the Maxwell Award!

Davey O'Brien Award (Quarterback)
The Davey O'Brien Award is named after the All-American football player at Texas Christian University who was named to thirteen All-American teams and became the only college football player to win the Heisman, Maxwell, and Walter Camp trophies in the same year. The 2006 recipient of the Davey O'Brien Award was Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith.

Chase Daniel, Missouri: Junior 329.2 passing YPG and 33 TD passes, and 3 rushing TD
Dennis Dixon, Oregon: Senior 213.6 passing YPG, 20 TD passes, and 9 rushing TD.
Tim Tebow, Florida: Sophomore 261.0 passing YPG, 29 TD passes, and 22 rushing TD.

Click here to vote for the Davey O'Brien Award!

Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)
The following nominees for the Outland Award are all key members of units that gave opponents trouble all year - two on the offensive line, one on defense. The 2005 recipient of the Outland Trophy was Joe Thomas of Wisconsin.

Anthony Collins, Kansas: Offense averaged 196.6 YPG rushing and 294.5 YPG passing.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU: DT 61 tackles (11.5 for losses), 6.0 sacks in 12 games.
Jake Long, Michigan: Offense averaged 166.1 YPG rushing and 207.4 YPG passing.

Click here to vote for the Outland Trophy!

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)
The Thorpe Award has been presented since 1986, based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Recent winners include Aaron Ross of Texas (2006), Michael Huff of Texas (2005), Carlos Rogers of Auburn (2004), Derrick Strait of Oklahoma (2003), Terence Newman of Kansas State (2002) and Roy Williams of Oklahoma (2001).

Antoine Cason, Arizona: CB five interceptions (2 TD), and two FF.
Jamie Silva, Boston College: S five interceptions and 110 tackles.
Craig Steltz, LSU: S six interceptions, three FF, and 89 tackles.

Click here to vote for the Jim Thorpe Award!

Doak Walker Award (Running Back)
The Doak Walker Award is the only major collegiate football award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification. It recognizes the nation's premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom and citizenship in the community. The 2006 recipient of the Doak Walker Award was Darren McFadden of Arkansas.

Mike Hart, Michigan: Rushed for 1,283 YDS and 12 TD. Averaged 136.9 YPG.
Darren McFadden, Arkansas: Rushed for 1,725 YDS and 15 TD. Averaged 143.8 YPG.
Ray Rice, Rutgers: Rushed for 1,612 YDS and 17 TD. Averaged 146.5 YPG.

Click here to vote for the Doak Walker Award!