Young, Bush headline AP All-America team

Vince Young can claim at least one victory over Southern
California this season.

The Texas quarterback was selected to The Associated Press
All-America team released Tuesday, relegating USC's Matt Leinart to

Young was runner-up in the Heisman Trophy voting to Trojans
tailback Reggie Bush and was one of four Longhorns on the first
team. Bush was one of three All-Americans from top-ranked USC and a
unanimous first-team selection.

The real test for No. 2 Texas comes Jan. 4 in the Rose Bowl,
when the Longhorns and Trojans play for the national title.

Young didn't hide his disappointment when Bush won the Heisman in
a landslide on Saturday night.

"This should give me a little bit more edge to show the world
what a good team the University of Texas is," he said.

Always dynamic on the move, Young proved he could be a topflight
passer this season. He leads the nation in efficiency rating
(168.8) with 2,769 yards and 26 touchdown passes. He also leads the
team with 850 yards rushing.

Texas offensive tackle Jonathan Scott also made the first team,
along with teammates Michael Huff, who won the Thorpe Award as the
nation's best defensive back, and defensive tackle Rodrique Wright.

Wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett and safety Darnell Bing were the other USC

Leinart was the All-America quarterback last season when he won
the Heisman Trophy. This year he was third in the Heisman voting
and lost out to Young for the top spot on the All-America team.

Notre Dame's Brady Quinn was the third-team quarterback.

USC and Texas led the way with seven players each receiving AP
All-America mention.

Leinart was joined on the second team by guard Taitusi Latui.
Tailback LenDale White and offensive tackle Sam Baker were on the
third team.

USC has the No. 1 offense in the country, averaging 580 yards
per game, and is the first team in NCAA history with two 1,000-yard
rushers (Bush and White), a 3,000-yard passer (Leinart) and a
1,000-yard receiver (Jarrett).

"The special thing about our team is everybody's able to put
their egos aside and focus on the team," Bush said.

Texas had three players on the third team -- linebacker Aaron
Harris, guard Will Allen and tackle Justin Blalock.

Bush was an All-American as an all-purpose player in 2004. He
and Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk were the only players to repeat
as first-teamers.

Hawk and Bush were also the only unanimous first-team selection.

Penn State's Paul Posluszny and Alabama's DeMeco Ryans were the
other All-American linebackers. Posluszny won the Butkus Award as
the nation's top linebacker and the Bednarik Award, given to the
top defensive player. Ryans won the Lott Trophy as top defensive

Hawk's Ohio State teammate, linebacker Bobby Carpenter, made

Penn State defensive end Tamba Hali gave the resurgent Nittany
Lions two All-Americans. The last time Joe Paterno's team had
multiple All-Americans was 1999, when linebackers LaVar Arrington
and Brandon Short and defensive lineman Courtney Brown made the
first team.

Penn State also placed offensive tackle Levi Brown and
cornerback Alan Zemaitis on the second team.

Louisville's Elvis Dumervil, who led the nation in sacks (20)
and forced fumbles (10) and Oregon defensive tackle Haloti Ngata
complete the All-America defensive line.

Virginia Tech cornerback Jimmy Williams and Georgia safety Greg
Blue were the other first-team defensive backs.

Washington State's Jerome Harrison, who leads Division I-A with
1,900 yards rushing, was the other first-team running back with

Oregon State's Mike Hass, the nation's leader in receiving yards
(139.3), went from a third-team selection last season to first-team
this season.

The rest of the All-America offense includes Maryland tight end
Vernon Davis, Auburn tackle Marcus McNeill, Georgia guard Max
Jean-Gilles, Virginia tackle D'Brickashaw Ferguson and Minnesota
center Greg Eslinger.

UCLA's Maurice Drew was the all-purpose All-American. He led the
nation in punt returns (29 ypr), and returned three for touchdowns.

Colorado's Mason Crosby is the kicker and Wake Forest's Ryan
Plackemeier is the punter.

Notre Dame had three players on the second and third teams,
including Quinn. Receiver Jeff Samardzija was a second-team choice,
and safety Tom Zbikowski was a third-teamer.

The Pac-10 had the most first-team All-Americans with seven. The
Big 12 had five. The Southeastern Conference, ACC and Big Ten each
had four and the Big East one.