OU's Bomar, Peterson make Maxwell Award watch list

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson and quarterback Rhett Bomar are on the 60-player watch list for the Maxwell Award, which was announced Wednesday.

The 70-year-old award is presented annually to college football's top player. Peterson was a finalist for the award as a freshman in 2004 and appeared on last year's watch list as well. He's rushed for 3,033 yards in two seasons with the Sooners.

Bomar set Oklahoma freshman records for completions, passing yards and passing touchdowns last season and was named the offensive most valuable player of the Holiday Bowl, in which the Sooners beat Oregon 17-14.

Oklahoma has produced two Maxwell winners -- Tommy McDonald in 1952 and Jason White in 2004.

Also on the watch list is Norman High School product Zac Taylor, the starting quarterback at Nebraska.