Finalists for top college football awards announced

Oregon senior quarterback Dennis Dixon, Arkansas junior running
back Darren McFadden and Florida sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow
are finalists for the Maxwell Award for the nation's best
all-around player.

The Maxwell and eight other honors will be presented Dec. 6 at
an awards ceremony televised by ESPN. Finalists were announced

The contenders for the Chuck Bednarik Trophy for the best
defensive player are Penn State linebacker Dan Connor, LSU
defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey and Ohio Sate linebacker James

Dorsey is also a finalist for the Outland Trophy, given to the
best interior lineman, along with Kansas' Anthony Collins and
Michigan's Jake Long.

Dixon, Tebow and Missouri's Chase Daniel are up for the Davey
O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

McFadden, the reigning Doak Walker Award winner, joins
Michigan's Mike Hart and Rutgers' Ray Rice as finalists for the
trophy given to the best running back.

Candidates for the Biletnikoff Award for the best wide receiver
are Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree, Michigan's Mario Manningham and
Kansas State's Jordy Nelson.

Jim Thorpe Award finalists for the best defensive back are
Arizona's Antoine Cason, Boston College's Jamie Silva and LSU's
Craig Steltz.

For the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, finalists are
UTEP's Jose Martinez, Indiana's Austin Starr and Arizona State's
Thomas Weber.

Finalists for the Ray Guy Award given to the nation's top punter
are Georgia Tech's Durant Brooks, Cincinnati's Kevin Huber and
Toledo's Brett Kern.