Tebow, McCoy up for Maxwell, O'Brien

DALLAS -- Tim Tebow and Colt McCoy are set for at least one showdown off the field.

The quarterbacks for No. 1 Florida and third-ranked Texas were chosen finalists Monday for two of the biggest postseason awards outside the Heisman Trophy.

Tebow, McCoy and Alabama running back Mark Ingram are the finalists for the Maxwell Award that goes to the best all-around player in college football. Tebow won the past two Maxwells.

Houston's Case Keenum joins Tebow and McCoy as finalists for the Davey O'Brien Award given to the best quarterback.

The winners of the Maxwell, O'Brien and seven other awards will be announced at Walt Disney World in Florida on Dec. 10, two days before Tebow and McCoy figure to be in New York as Heisman finalists for the second year in a row.

Tebow won the Heisman in 2007 and finished third behind winner Sam Bradford and McCoy, the runner-up, last year.

If the Gators and Longhorns win twice more each to get to 13-0, Tebow and McCoy will probably face off on the field in the BCS championship game at the Rose Bowl.

One of Florida's victories, though, will have to come against No. 2 Alabama in the Southeastern Conference championship. And Ingram figures to be a worthy opponent in Heisman balloting as well. The sophomore is fifth nationally in rushing at 127 yards per game with 12 touchdowns.

Tebow doesn't measure up statistically among quarterbacks, but has led the Gators to BCS titles two of the past three years. McCoy set an NCAA record with his 43rd victory Saturday against Kansas.

Keenum is the statistical darling of the bunch. He leads the nation in passing by more than 1,000 yards and is the leader in total offense and completions as well.

Ingram is also a finalist for the Doak Walker Award. The others are Toby Gerhart of Stanford, the national leader with 23 touchdowns, and Clemson's C.J. Spiller.

McCoy's favorite target, receiver Jordan Shipley, is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award. He is joined by Freddie Barnes of Bowling Green and Golden Tate of Notre Dame.

Dorin Dickerson of Pittsburgh, Florida's Aaron Hernandez and Dennis Pitta of BYU are the finalists for the John Mackey Award presented to the nation's top tight end. Dickerson has 43 catches for 496 yards and 10 touchdowns for No. 8 Pitt (9-1); Hernandez has 46 catches for 571 yards and two TDs for the Gators; and Pitta has 54 catches for 735 yards and seven TDs for the 9-2 Cougars (No. 19 BCS, No. 18 AP).

Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh is a finalist for the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) and the Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player).

The other Outland finalists are Mike Iupati of Idaho and Russell Okung of Oklahoma State. The other Bednarik contenders are Alabama nose guard Terrence Cody and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes.

The winner of the Jim Thorpe Award for best defensive back will come from the trio of Tennessee's Eric Berry, Florida's Joe Haden and Earl Thomas of Texas.

The Lou Groza finalists for best kicker are Kai Forbath of UCLA, Leigh Tiffin of Alabama and Blair Walsh of Georgia. The finalists for the Ray Guy Award (best punter) are Georgia's Drew Butler, Michigan's Zoltan Mesko and Florida's Chas Henry.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.