Hall of Fame to honor Nevada trio

RENO, Nev. -- A piece of Nevada sports history is headed to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Coach Chris Ault says a display in the works will recognize three Nevada players as the first trio of teammates in the NCAA to each rush for more than 1,000 yards in the same season. Quarterback Colin Kaepernick and running backs Vai Taua and Luke Lippincott accomplished the feat last season.

Kaepernick says he, Taua and Lippincott recently signed pieces of their jerseys for the hall in South Bend, Ind., where Ault is already enshrined.

Lippincott has graduated, but Kaepernick and Taua are back for their senior seasons. Taua led the Wolf Pack last year with more than 1,300 yards rushing on an NCAA-best 7.8 yards per carry.

Kaepernick had 1,183 yards and Lippincott, 1,034.