Big 12 conference won't change name

Next year will be different for the Big 12, but its name will be the same.

The conference's board of directors chose to keep the name "Big 12," despite losing two members, Nebraska and Colorado.

"Most people believe that the Big 12 is the name on the banner under which we have competed, under which we've won national championships," commissioner Dan Beebe told the Big 12's website. "I think the name we have is the name we're going to continue with."

The Big Ten has had 11 teams since adding Penn State in 1993, and adds a 12th next year in Nebraska, but will remain the Big Ten. The Pac-10, meanwhile, will become the Pac-12 when Colorado and Utah join the league next year.

The conference also plans to unveil a new branding initiative during Big 12 Football Media Days on July 25-26 in Dallas.

David Ubben covers the Big 12 for ESPN.com.