SEC fines schools for rushing fields

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference fined four schools a combined $60,000 for violating league policies during the football season.

Mississippi State and Mississippi were the hardest hit, with each school receiving a $25,000 fine.

Mississippi State was fined for violating the league's artificial noisemaker policy a second time. The school's last violation was in 2010. Mississippi State fans have a tradition of bringing cowbells to games, which the league approved, as long as they are used only at approved times.

Ole Miss was fined for violating the league's field access policy a second time. Fans rushed the field following the school's 27-24 victory over LSU on Oct. 19. The school also violated the policy in 2012.

Auburn and Missouri also were each fined $5,000 for a first violation of the field access policy.

Fans of both schools rushed the field after securing their respective division titles on Nov. 30. Auburn won the West Division by beating Alabama in the dramatic Iron Bowl 34-28, while Missouri won the East by beating Texas A&M 28-21.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.