Bowl complies with new playoff

In an effort to comply with the new College Football Playoff, the Atlanta-based bowl game has gone back to its roots and will now be known as the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, sources told ESPN.com on Friday.

The decision to include Peach in the name for the first time since 2006 came in part because conference commissioners determined last April that any games involved in the College Football Playoff could not go solely by a corporate name.

Last year, CFP executive director Bill Hancock told ESPN.com that conference commissioners wanted the playoff bowl names "to be parallel." Sources said Chick-fil-A Bowl officials had been told multiple times in the past year that they likely would have to change the name.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, which will continue to be played on New Year's Eve, is one of the six bowls that will rotate as hosts of the new College Football Playoff semifinals. It will host the semifinals in 2016, '19, '22 and '25.

The other College Football Playoff bowls are the Rose, Sugar, Orange, Fiesta and Cotton.

The Peach Bowl debuted in 1968 and was known by that name until 1998, when it became the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. However, Peach was removed from the title in 2006 and it stayed that way for the past eight seasons.