Bill Snyder, Trev Alberts in HOF

DALLAS -- Kansas State coach Bill Snyder and former Nebraska linebacker Trev Alberts will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, sources told ESPN.

Snyder and Alberts will be introduced as part of the 2015 class Friday at an 11 a.m. ET news conference at the Renaissance Dallas Hotel. This year's Hall of Fame class will consist of 15 players and two coaches.

Snyder, 75, becomes only the fourth active coach inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Snyder has been Kansas State's coach for 23 seasons. His first stint was from 1989 to 2005, when he took over a program that had only four winning seasons in the previous 36 years.

In his third year, Snyder posted his first winning season and began what was the greatest turnaround in college football history. After retiring in 2005, he returned to rescue the program in 2009, and the Wildcats have posted winning seasons in the past five years.

Snyder is 187-94-1 at K-State, guiding the Wildcats to 16 bowls, two Big 12 championships, four Big 12 North Division titles and two No. 1 BCS rankings in the regular season.

At Nebraska, Alberts was a unanimous All-American and the Big Eight's defensive player of the year in 1993. He won the 1993 Butkus Award, signifying the nation's top linebacker. Alberts also was a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete and an academic All-American.

Alberts was the fifth overall pick in the 1994 NFL draft by Indianapolis, and he played for the Colts through 1996.

He has been athletic director at the University of Nebraska-Omaha since April 2009.

There were 75 players and six coaches from FBS schools and 87 players and 25 coaches from the divisional ranks nominated for this year's class.

For a player to be eligible, his college career must have ended 10 years ago and he had to have been a first-team All-America selection.

A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately after retirement if he is at least 70 years old. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years old. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.