Tom O'Brien also interested in CFP

Former NC State coach Tom O'Brien has been approached about the possibility of being a future member of the College Football Playoff selection committee, a source told ESPN.com, and O'Brien said he is interested.

The terms of four current committee members -- Mike Gould, Pat Haden, Tom Osborne and Mike Tranghese -- expire in February.

"Certainly I'd be flattered to be considered, but who knows where it will go," O'Brien said. "I think it's a thing that's a long way off, nothing that would happen for years. It's not like it's on the near horizon. I would be interested, but I'm interested in a lot of things, and nothing."

The playoff's management committee, which is made up by the 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick, will select the new members, but executive director Bill Hancock said they haven't set a timetable for that yet.

O'Brien, who announced his retirement in January after a 40-year coaching career, spent the past two seasons at Virginia as associate head coach for offense and tight ends coach. He was head coach at NC State for six years and Boston College for 10 seasons, where he was the winningest coach in Eagles history at 75-45. He had a 40-35 record in six seasons with the Wolfpack.

The terms of committee members Barry Alvarez, Oliver Luck, Archie Manning and Condoleezza Rice expire in February 2017, but it's still unknown if Manning will participate this fall. He missed last season for health reasons but has said he wants to return this year.

The terms of Tom Jernstedt, committee chairman Jeff Long, Dan Radakovich, Steve Wieberg and Tyrone Willingham expire in February 2018.