Derrick Brooks, Marlin Briscoe to be part of college HOF class

PHOENIX -- Former Florida State linebacker Derrick Brooks and former Nebraska-Omaha quarterback Marlin Briscoe will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, sources told ESPN on Thursday.

Brooks and Briscoe are among the 14 players and two coaches in the Class of 2016, which will be introduced Friday at 1 p.m. ET on ESPNU at the Marriott Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Brooks was a two-time unanimous first-team All-American at Florida State, leading the Seminoles to the program's first national title in 1993. He was the Football Writers Association of America's Defensive Player of the Year as a junior and senior in 1993 and 1994 and the ACC Player of the Year in 1994.

Brooks was a first-round pick in the 1995 NFL draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, where he played 14 seasons. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2014.

Briscoe set 22 school records at Nebraska-Omaha, throwing for 5,114 yards. He earned first-team NAIA All-America honors in 1967.

Briscoe wasn't selected until the 14th round of the 1968 NFL draft by the Denver Broncos but became the first black starting quarterback in modern NFL history on Oct. 6, 1968.

There were 76 players and five coaches from FBS schools and 92 players and 27 coaches from the divisional ranks nominated for this year's College Football Hall of Fame class.

For a player to be eligible, his college career must have ended at least 10 years earlier and he had to have been a first-team All-America selection.

A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately after retirement if he is at least 70 years old. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years old. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.