Kirby Hocutt selected as new chairman of CFP selection committee

Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt has been named the second chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee, the CFP announced on Thursday.

Hocutt replaces Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long, who is still on the committee but is no longer the chairman after serving in that role the past two seasons. Hocutt was appointed by the CFP's management committee, which is composed of the 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick.

"Kirby has established himself as a natural leader," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a prepared statement. "His personality, his background as a Football Bowl Subdivision student-athlete and his experience make him a perfect fit to chair the committee. Jeff Long set a high bar for excellence and we know Kirby will also be a terrific chairman."

The committee chair is responsible for running the group's meetings in Dallas during the season and acting as its primary spokesperson along with Hancock. The rest of the committee members are not typically available for comment.

Hocutt, a 1995 graduate of Kansas State, was an All-Big Eight Conference linebacker for the Wildcats. He earned his master's degree in education at Oklahoma. Before becoming athletic director at Texas Tech in 2011, Hocutt held the same position at Ohio University and Miami. He has also served as chairman of the NCAA Division I Football Recruiting Subcommittee.

"College football continues to have a significant impact in my life and I am humbled and honored by this appointment," Hocutt said in a statement. "Serving on the committee this past season was a tremendous experience. The thoughtful consideration, professionalism and integrity exhibited by the members of this committee speak to the level of success the College Football Playoff has shown in its brief history."