New clause allows CFP selection panel to extend chairman Kirby Hocutt's term by one year

A new clause in the College Football Playoff selection committee protocol could extend the term of committee chairman and Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt for one more season, CFP executive director Bill Hancock told ESPN.com on Thursday.

Hocutt's term on the committee is set to expire after the 2016 season, but the first-year chairman could also serve in 2017 because of the recent tweak to the protocol:

"Members will not be eligible for re-appointment, but a member's term may be extended one year if the member would serve as chair in what otherwise would be his/her final year."

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long was the committee chair for the past two seasons, and is still a member of the group, but Hancock has said that the position of chairman wasn't meant to be held by the same person for more than a year or two. The CFP management committee, composed of the 10 FBS athletic directors and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick, now chooses the committee chair and named Hocutt as Long's replacement in January.

Hocutt is entering his second season on the College Football Playoff selection committee after taking over for former committee member Oliver Luck. Generally committee members serve three-year terms.

Hancock said the CFP's management committee hasn't discussed a timetable for the decision.

"We will discuss later whether Kirby's term might be extended," Hancock said. "We made this adjustment because want the flexibility to allow a person to serve as chair two years."

Should Hocutt's term expire after 2017, it would open a spot for another Big 12 athletic director on the committee. The terms of Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez, former Vanderbilt coach Bobby Johnson and Condoleezza Rice also expire in February 2017.