College Football Playoff committee members receive monitoring duties

The members of the College Football Playoff selection committee have been assigned two FBS conferences each to monitor throughout the season as they have in the past, CFP executive director Bill Hancock told ESPN on Saturday.

New committee chairman Kirby Hocutt doesn't have any conferences to monitor because of his duty as chairman.

The CFP stresses that the committee members are not advocates for these leagues; rather, their jobs are to make sure the other committee members have the most relevant, up-to-date information on each conference and to provide reports on their respective leagues.

"It is always important to be clear about the role of the point persons," Hancock said. "They are not advocates for teams in a conference or for any independent institution. They will not speak on behalf of any conference or institution during the committee's deliberations or represent any conference's or independent institution's interests during those deliberations.

"Their function is to gather information and ensure that it is available to the committee. Their role is purely for the purpose of objective fact-gathering."

The assignments for the season:

American -- Barry Alvarez and Jeff Bower

ACC -- Condoleezza Rice and Rob Mullens

Big Ten -- Jeff Long and Tyrone Willingham

Big 12 -- Steve Wieberg and Barry Alvarez

Conference USA -- Rob Mullens and Tom Jernstedt

Mid-American -- Bobby Johnson and Condoleezza Rice

Mountain West -- Tyrone Willingham and Herb Deromedi

Pac-12 -- Tom Jernstedt and Bobby Johnson

SEC -- Dan Radakovich and Steve Wieberg

Sun Belt -- Jeff Bower and Dan Radakovich

Independents - Herb Deromedi and Jeff Long