Brian Kelly wins Robinson Award

DALLAS -- Notre Dame Fighting Irish coach Brian Kelly won the Football Writers Association of America/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award on Wednesday after leading to the Fighting Irish to their first unbeaten regular season since 1988 and a spot in the Discover BCS National Championship Game.

Kelly, in his third season at Notre Dame, won the award in voting by the 1,200-member FWAA. He is the fourth Notre Dame coach to receive the award: Ara Parseghian in 1964, Lou Holtz in 1988 and Charlie Weis in 2005.

Notre Dame will face Alabama in the title game on Jan. 7 in Miami.