MWC to have conference title game

The Mountain West voted to hold a conference football championship game on Saturday, Dec. 7. and name its divisions "Mountain" and "West."

The league's athletic directors approved the addition of the football championship game Tuesday along with splitting the MWC's 12-teams into two six-team divisions. The division champion with the highest BCS ranking would host the title game.

It has not been determined which network will televise the championship.

The Mountain division will consist of Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming. The West will feature Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, UNLV, San Diego State and San Jose State.

All the Mountain division teams are in the Mountain time zone, and all the West division teams except Hawaii are in the Pacific time zone.

The Mountain West will be the seventh conference to hold a football championship game this fall, joining the ACC, Big Ten, Conference USA, Mid-American, Pac-12 and SEC. The only leagues without a conference title game are the Big 12, Big East and Sun Belt.