Parameters for selectors in place

DESTIN, Fla. -- Current commissioners will not be eligible to be on the College Football Playoff selection committee, executive director Bill Hancock said Wednesday.

Hancock said the "working concept" would exclude the 10 current FBS commissioners from being on the committee. He also said current athletic directors "could be eligible" but added "that could change."

Current head coaches and media members also will not be considered for the selection committee, said Hancock, who is attending the SEC's spring meetings at the Hilton Sandestin.

SEC commissioner Mike Slive has asked his athletic directors to submit their nominees for the selection committee.

Friday marks the deadline for conferences to submit names of individuals to be considered for the committee.

Florida athletic director Jeremy Foley said he's nominated two individuals, but wouldn't disclose who they were. Foley also said he's "heard" current athletic directors ultimately would not be chosen for the committee.

Hancock said he expects more than 100 nominees, which will ultimately be cut down to the 12- to 20-person selection committee.

"We want to have people of high integrity," Hancock said, "and people with the courage to make difficult decisions."

Foley said when the selection committee members' names are released, the commissioners want people to realize "that's a good group."

Starting after the 2014 regular season, the selection committee will be responsible for selecting the four teams for the College Football Playoff semifinals along with the other teams that will participate in the four New Year's Eve and New Year's Day major bowls.

The committee also will be responsible for pairing the teams in the four New Year's bowl games that are not hosting the national semifinals.