Sources: Two new C-USA bowls

Conference USA teams will participate in newly created bowl games in Nassau, Bahamas, and Boca Raton, Fla., starting in 2014, sources told ESPN.

The Bahamas Bowl would be the first postseason bowl played outside the United States since the International Bowl was held in Toronto from 2007 to 2010. It would be held at Thomas Robinson Stadium, which has a 15,000-seat capacity.

"We hope to have something completed in the next two weeks," Lea Miller, creator of the Bahamas Bowl, said Tuesday.

The bowl in Boca Raton would be held at FAU Stadium on the Florida Atlantic campus. FAU is a C-USA member.

The new bowls will mean there will be at least 38 bowl games in 2014. On Monday, the Mid-American Conference, Sun Belt Conference and ESPN announced the creation of the Camellia Bowl in Montgomery, Ala., beginning in 2014.

C-USA is expected to play the MAC in the Bahamas Bowl and either the American Athletic Conference, Mountain West or MAC in Boca Raton, sources said.

On Tuesday, C-USA also announced new six-year deals from 2014 to 2019 with six bowls: R&L Carriers New Orleans, Gildan New Mexico, Beef 'O' Brady's, Sheraton Hawaii Bowl, Bell Helicopter Armed Forces and Heart of Dallas.

C-USA will play annually in the New Orleans and New Mexico bowls.

The Beef 'O' Brady's and Hawaii Bowls will share a C-USA pick, with each bowl getting a C-USA team three times each over the six-year span. C-USA will also play a bowl game in North Texas each of the next six years, playing in either the Heart of Dallas Bowl or Armed Forces Bowl.

The new bowl deals, plus the Bahamas and Boca Raton bowls, will give C-USA six primary bowl deals starting in 2014.

C-USA also will have a backup bowl deal with the AdvoCare V100 Bowl in Shreveport, La., if the bowl can't fill its spot with an ACC or SEC team, sources said.

C-USA's opponents will be: New Orleans (Sun Belt), New Mexico (MWC), Beef 'O' Brady's (ACC or American), Hawaii (MWC), Heart of Dallas (Big Ten or Big 12), Armed Forces (Big Ten or Big 12).

ESPN will own the new bowl game in Boca Raton and is expected to purchase the Heart of Dallas Bowl, industry sources said. ESPN will then own 11 of the 32 non-College Football Playoff bowl games beginning in 2014.

ESPN Regional Television already owns and operates the BBVA Compass Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.), Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth, Texas), Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise, Idaho), Las Vegas Bowl, New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque), Texas Bowl (Houston) and Hawaii Bowl (Honolulu).