Johnny Manziel not 1st-team SEC QB

Despite being the reigning Heisman Trophy winner, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was not named a first-team member of the preseason coaches' 2013 All-SEC squad Thursday.

Manziel, who became the first freshman ever to win the Heisman after setting the SEC record for total offensive yards (5,116) and accounting for 47 touchdowns in 2012, was placed on the second team behind Georgia senior quarterback Aaron Murray.

Manziel might have been the sport's most exciting player in 2012, but he has caused more of a stir this year for his off-field actions. The NCAA is investigating whether he was paid for signing hundreds of autographs on photos and sports memorabilia.

While Murray hasn't garnered the attention Manziel has in the past year, he will enter the 2013 season as one of the league's most successful quarterbacks of all time. In 2012, he set Georgia's single-season records for passing yards (3,893), touchdowns accounted for (39) and touchdown passes (36). He became the first SEC quarterback to pass for 3,000 yards in three consecutive seasons.

Murray is looking to become just the third quarterback in Football Bowl Subdivision history to pass for 3,000 yards in four straight seasons. With his 95 career touchdown passes, Murray is 20 shy of breaking the SEC record for career TD passes. Murray has thrown for 10,091 career yards and needs just 1,438 yards to become the SEC's leader in career passing yards.

Sophomore running back Todd Gurley and senior tight end Arthur Lynch joined Murray as the three Georgia players to make the coaches' first team.

Defending national champion Alabama led all SEC teams with 16 players making the preseason squad, which is divided into three teams. The Crimson Tide had a league-high five players on the first team while placing seven on the second team and four on the third team, including senior quarterback AJ McCarron. Georgia was second with eight representatives, while Tennessee was third with seven. Florida and LSU each had six players selected.

Eleven of the 14 schools had a representative on the first team, while each school had at least two players named to one of the three teams. LSU junior Odell Beckham Jr. was named to all three teams at three different positions, while Florida junior Ronald Powell made the third team at both linebacker and defensive lineman.

This was the 11th straight year of the coaches' preseason All-SEC team. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.