Hogs' Jeff Long to lead committee

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long has been named the first chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee.

A news conference will be held Wednesday in Dallas to announce the committee's members.

ESPN and The Associated Press have identified the other 12 members of the committee as:

• Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez

• Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, a former Air Force Academy superintendent

• USC athletic director Pat Haden

• Former NCAA executive vice president Tom Jernstedt

• West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck

• Former NFL and Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning

• Former Nebraska coach/athletic director Tom Osborne

• Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich

• Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice

• Former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese

• Former USA Today reporter Steve Wieberg

• Former Stanford/Notre Dame/Washington coach Tyrone Willingham

The selection committee will choose the four teams that advance to the College Football Playoff beginning after the 2014 regular season, as well as rank and place at-large teams in the noncontract New Year's Day bowls -- the Cotton, Fiesta and Chick-fil-A.