Taurasi was also player of the year last year

ATLANTA -- St. Joseph's Jameer Nelson and Connecticut's Diana Taurasi were selected Tuesday as the 2004 Naismith college basketball players of the year.

Taurasi won for the second consecutive year.

Nelson, a 5-foot-11 senior guard, was the Atlantic 10 Player of
the Year. Nelson led St. Joseph's to an undefeated record in the
regular season and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Nelson is the school's career leader in points and assists. He
is averaging 20.2 points, 4.6 rebounds and 5.2 assists per game.

Taurasi, a 6-foot senior guard, already has led Connecticut to
two NCAA championships -- 2002 and 2003 -- and a Final Four
appearance in 2001. Taurasi is a two-time Big East Player of the
Year who is averaging 15.6 points per game and is eight assists
away from matching the school career record of 629.

Both players were also named to The Associated Press All America teams.

Last month, Dwight Howard of Southwest Atlanta Christian Academy
and Candace Parker of Naperville Central High in Illinois won the
Naismith prep awards.