Denver, Berkhoel blank Maine for title

BOSTON -- Adam Berkhoel looked out at the ice and felt as if
he was alone on an island.

With less than a minute to play and the Denver goalie's team
clinging to the narrowest of leads, the Maine blue and white shirts
outnumbered the red and gold of his Pioneers teammates by a 2-to-1

"Obviously when they pulled their goalie I got a little nervous
back there,'' said Berkhoel, who made 24 saves in the Pioneers' 1-0
victory over Maine to win the NCAA championship Saturday night.
"It was pretty scary seeing that late in the game.''

But Berkhoel came up with his two biggest of his 24 saves when
the Black Bears had a 6-on-3 advantage, and Denver (27-12-5) won
its first national championship since 1969.

Matt Laatsch was sent to the penalty box for hooking with 2:09
to play. Then Gabe Gauthier, who scored the game's only goal, was
called with 1:34 left after closing his hand on the puck.

When Jimmy Howard left the Maine net with 1:13 remaining, the
Black Bears (33-8-3) had a three-man advantage for more than a

"I can't ever remember having to defend a 6-on-3,'' Denver
coach George Gwozdecky said. "You're just trying to get in the
shooting lanes, and in that last minute, anything goes.''

Berkhoel, selected the Frozen Four's MVP, stopped two blistering
slap shots by Maine's top scorer, Colin Shields.

"Berkhoel was phenomenal in that last minute,'' said Howard,
who came in with a national-best 1.19 goals against average and
made 19 saves in the championship game.

Denver won five national titles in a 12-year span in the 1950s
and '60s, but none since 1969.

Gauthier scored the only goal of the game on the power play at
12:26 of the first period. Connor James won the puck in the corner
and passed in front to an unmarked Gauthier, who one-timed a shot
between Howard's pads.

Berkhoel did his part to secure the win for Denver, but his
defense came through too, clogging the lanes, poking at the puck
and throwing bodies to the ice to block 27 of Maine's 67 attempted
shots on goal. The Black Bears blocked five of 37 Denver attempts.

"That's the statistic that jumps out at me,'' said Maine coach
Tim Whitehead.

The Black Bears thought they took the lead earlier in the first
period when Derek Damon put the puck in the net after Shields' shot
from the point squirted to the right of the Denver goal. An
uncovered Damon poked the puck past a lunging Berkhoel, but after a
review the goal was disallowed because Mike Hamilton's skate was
barely in the crease.

Denver played without third-leading scorer Lukas Dora. Dora, who
had 14 goals and 21 assists, was suspended for what team officials
called a violation of team rules.

The Black Bears, who had won eight straight one-goal games, had
their best chances in the second period while on the power play.
But Berkhoel made three saves within a minute to preserve the
narrow lead.

It was another bitter ending for Maine, which was less than a
minute from the title two years ago, then allowed Minnesota to tie
it with 52 seconds to play and win it in overtime. Maine won titles
in 1993 and '99.

"Obviously our goal was to win a national championship,'' said
forward Todd Jackson, one of six Black Bears who played in the 2002
title game. "It is disappointing. We did a lot of good things this
season, but this one stings a lot right now.''

Notes: Presumptive Democratic presidential nominee John Kerry
attended the game. ... The teams combined for 10 shots in the first
period to tie the record for the second lowest in the first period
of a championship game. The record is eight in 1996 when Michigan
and Colorado College played. ... The announced crowd of 18,597 was
the largest to watch a hockey game at the FleetCenter, home of the
NHL's Boston Bruins. It was also the third-largest crowd for an
NCAA championship game. ... This was the fifth consecutive year a
Hockey East school faced a Western Collegiate Hockey Association
team in the championship game. ... The game was just the third
shutout in championship game history, the second involving the
Pioneers, who beat North Dakota 4-0 in 1968. Boston University beat
Cornell 4-0 in 1972.