College World Series regional sites announced

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 2006 College World Series.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Saturday, May 27, are: Alabama (41-19), Tuscaloosa, Ala.; Arkansas (38-19), Fayetteville, Ark.; Cal St. Fullerton (41-13), Fullerton, Calif.; Clemson (46-14), Clemson, S.C.; Georgia (41-19), Athens, Ga.; Georgia Tech (45-16), Atlanta; Kentucky (42-15), Lexington, Ky.; Mississippi (39-20), Oxford, Miss.; Nebraska (42-14), Lincoln, Neb.; North Carolina (45-13), Chapel Hill, N.C.; Oklahoma (40-19), Norman, Okla.; Oregon St. (39-13), Corvallis, Oregon; Pepperdine (39-19), Malibu, Calif.; Rice (49-10), Houston; Texas (40-19), Austin, Texas; and Virginia (46-13), Charlottesville, Va.

By being awarded a regional, nine of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field. Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Texas and Virginia, have made the field as at-large selections. Clemson, Mississippi, Nebraska, Pepperdine, Rice, would clinch automatic berths by winning their conference tournament championship, which are scheduled for Sunday afternoon. A loss in those tournament championship games makes them an at-large selection. Cal State Fullerton and Oregon State already have clinched automatic berths by winning the Big West and Pac-10 conferences, respectively. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played from June 2 to June 5.

Kentucky and Pepperdine will host a regional for the first time, while North Carolina, Oregon State and Virginia are hosting for the second time in school history. This will be the 22nd time that Texas has hosted a regional, while Clemson (11th) is the only other institution to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Seven sites (Cal State Fullerton, Clemson, Georgia Tech, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oregon St. and Texas) also hosted in 2005.

The remaining first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced on Monday (ESPN, 12:30 p.m. ET).

The College World Series begins play June 16 at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.