Arizona State men surpass FSU, join women as indoor champs

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. -- Walter Dix's absence caught up with Florida State in the end.

So did Arizona State, which rallied past the Seminoles in a thrilling finish to the NCAA Indoor track and field championships.

The Sun Devils entered the final event of the meet Saturday night tied with Florida State in the men's team standings. Arizona State then ran the 1,600-meter relay in 3 minutes, 6.34 seconds -- about a second faster than the Seminoles.

Florida State was competing without Dix, its star in both the 200 and the relay. He was out with strep throat.

Arizona State finished third in the relay and with 44 points overall. Florida State scored 41 points. Arizona State also won the women's championship with 51 points. LSU was second with 43.

"It's a dream come true for us to be able to come in and win on both sides," Arizona State coach Greg Kraft said. "It was a lot of work for the kids. They just did a wonderful job. I'm kind of speechless."

The Arizona State men earned 16 points in the final two events, including 10 when Kyle Alcorn won the 3,000. Alcorn finished in 8:00.82, pulling the Sun Devils into a first-place tie.

Florida State's relay team ran valiantly without Dix. The Seminoles finished in 3:07.47, which was only 0.06 slower than their qualifying time with Dix.

The Seminoles then had to wait for Arizona State, which ran in the final heat. The Sun Devils had two runners who ran in the 400 earlier in the night, but they were fast enough to beat Florida State's time.

Baylor won the men's relay in 3:05.66, the world's fastest time of the year.

Texas was third in the men's standings with 34 points, and LSU was fourth with 33.

LSU dominated the 60. Richard Thompson and Trindon Holliday earned a 1-2 finish in the men's race, and Kelly-Ann Baptiste was the women's champion. Thompson finished in 6.51, equaling the world's fastest time this year. He also ran a 6.51 a day earlier in qualifying.

"We knew the 60 would be crucial with me and Trindon running," Thompson said. "I was running to get a win, not to break any records."

Baptiste posted a time of 7.163 for LSU. Alexandria Anderson of Texas was second in 7.169.

"Tonight I just came out here to win," Baptiste said. "Try to hit the start and just hold on for my dear life."

Arizona State's Jacquelyn Johnson set a collegiate record in the pentathlon, winning the event for the third straight year. Johnson was in second place entering the 800, the last of the five events that comprise the pentathlon. She outran the field by more than 5 seconds to finish with a record 4,496 points.

"Going into this today, I wasn't really thinking of being national champ three times," Johnson said. "I was more thinking of, 'Go out there and beat the record.' And I did it."

Florida State freshman Gonzalo Barroilhet won the heptathlon with 5,951 points.

Andretti Bain of Oral Roberts won the men's 400 with a time of 46.19, and Krista Simkins of Miami took the women's race in 52.16.

LSU's LaTavia Thomas won the women's 800 in 2:05.07. Northern Iowa's Tyler Mulder was the men's winner in 1:49.20.

Egor Agafonov of Kansas won the men's weight throw for the second consecutive year with a toss of 74 feet, 6 1/4 inches.

The men's mile went to Leonel Manzano of Texas for the second straight year. He finished in 4:04.45. Hannah England of Florida State was the women's champion in 4:35.30.

Dusty Jonas of Nebraska took the men's high jump at 7-7.

Arkansas' Nkosinza Balumbu won the men's triple jump with a distance of 54-3 1/4. Stanford's Erica McLain took the women's title for the second straight year at 46-7 1/4.

The women's 3,000 went to Susan Kuijken of Florida State in 8:58.14. LSU won the women's 1,600 relay with a time of 3:31.14.

Mariam Kevkhishvili of Florida won the women's shot put with a distance of 58-6.

Ellie Rudy of Montana State took the women's pole vault for the second consecutive year. She cleared 14-1 1/4.

Arizona State also won the women's indoor title last year, but this was its first men's championship. LSU is the only other school to win the men's and women's indoor titles in the same year, having accomplished the feat in 2004.