Gerbe, Ryan, Porter named Hobey Baker finalists

The field of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, honoring college hockey's top player, was cut to three: Boston College's Nathan Gerbe, Miami's Ryan Jones and Michigan's Kevin Porter.

Gerbe, a junior forward, has helped guide his Eagles to their third straight NCAA Frozen Four. He has produced 30 goals and 30 assists in 41 games and ranks second in the nation in scoring. Gerbe was named first-team Hockey East and the league's playoff MVP, The Dodge Holiday Classic MVP and was the Hockey Commissioner's December National Player of the Month.

Jones, a senior forward, captained the RedHawks to a school-record 33 wins. A rare three-year captain, Jones' leadership earned him all-conference honors for the third straight year when he was named to the CCHA First Team after finishing third in league scoring. He is tied for second in the country in goal scoring with 31 in 42 games and added 18 assists to place him seventh in the nation in scoring.

Porter, a senior forward, almost single-handedly helped Michigan to its national record 23rd Frozen Four. Last weekend in two games at the East Regional, Porter had a hand in six of the seven Michigan goals, bagging five goals and one assist, including four goals in a 5-1 win over Niagara. He is the nation's scoring leader in points and goals with 33 goals, 29 assists for 62 points in 42 games and was named the CCHA Player of the Year.

Candidates for the award are judged on strength of character, skills, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. The Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced April 11 during the Frozen Four. The announcement will be aired live on ESPNU at 6:30 pm ET.