CWS to be played at Omaha through 2035

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA will keep the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., through 2035 under an unprecedented 25-year contract extension.

The baseball championship has been in Omaha each year since 1950. The new agreement will take effect in 2011 when the CWS moves from Rosenblatt Stadium to a 24,000-seat downtown ballpark.

NCAA president Myles Brand said Thursday the city's commitment to a new stadium was a factor in the long extension.

The 2008 series begins Saturday. The eight teams in the field are: Georgia, Florida State, Rice, Stanford, North Carolina, LSU, Fresno State and Miami.