Great American Conference approved

INDIANAPOLIS -- A new Division II conference made up of nine schools from Oklahoma and Arkansas was approved Wednesday by the NCAA to start competition this fall.

The Great American Conference, headquartered in Russellville, Ark., became the 23rd Division II conference recognized by the NCAA.

The conference comprises Arkansas-Monticello, Arkansas Tech, East Central, Harding, Henderson State, Ouachita Baptist, Southeastern Oklahoma State, Southern Arkansas and Southwestern Oklahoma State.

Those schools formerly competed in the Lone Star and Gulf South conferences before joining together last summer to propose the formation of a new league intended to reduce travel costs.