EA removes 13 NCAA women's soccer players from FIFA 16 game

Thirteen women's soccer players have been removed from their national team rosters in the upcoming FIFA 16 video game after the NCAA told game maker Electronic Arts that putting the players in the game would compromise their eligibility.

EA said Thursday in a statement that the NCAA informed the company that if they put the 13 players, who are either attending schools or are likely to attend schools, in the game, the company would risk their eligibility.

"We do not agree with the position," EA said, in a statement released on its website on Thursday. "All rights were secured following standard protocol with national governing bodies and federations, and none of these NCAA student-athletes were to be individually compensated by EA Sports by being included in FIFA 16."

"We believe this decision denies these 13 athletes the opportunity to represent their countries in the game, but we have removed them from FIFA 16 to ensure there is no risk to their eligibility."

An NCAA spokesperson didn't immediately respond to a request for comment.

The removed players include six on the Canadian team, one on the Spanish team and six players for Mexico.

The list of players excluded include West Virginia University teammates Kadeisha Buchanan and Ashley Lawrence and Michigan teammates Sura Yekka and Christina Murillo.

Others include Janine Beckie (Texas Tech), Rebecca Quinn (Duke), Spain's Celia Jimenez (Alabama), Mexico's Tanya Samarzich (Kentucky), Amanda Perez (Washington) and Maria Sanchez (Idaho State).

FIFA 16 is the first in the franchise to include women players, including 12 women's national teams. The game will be released next Tuesday, Sept. 22.