Source: Missouri move to SEC done

Missouri's move to the Southeasten Conference was finished Friday, a source confirmed to ESPN.com on Saturday.

The Tigers' move from the Big 12 to the SEC is expected to be announced next week. The source said the SEC and Missouri opted to put off the announcement because they didn't want to upstage the LSU-Alabama football game Saturday night.

The Sporting News first reported the deal's completion Saturday.

Missouri is expected to join the SEC East in football with Florida, Kentucky, Vanderbilt, Georgia, South Carolina and Tennessee, the source said. Fellow Big 12 member Texas A&M will be in the West with Auburn, Alabama, Arkansas, LSU, Ole Miss and Mississippi State.

SEC basketball went to one division this season but it's unclear if that will continue with 14 teams.

Missouri's move to the SEC in 2012 could mirror West Virginia's to the Big 12 in 2012 in its uncertainty. A source said Missouri could have trouble getting out of the Big 12 because the league isn't sure if it can get the Mountaineers in from the Big East next season.

West Virginia filed a lawsuit to get out of the 27-month exit agreement with the Big East. The league has countered with a suit of its own. If West Virginia can't get out of the Big East then the Big 12 will try to keep Missouri for 2012 to avoid dropping below 10 schools.

The Big 12 needs 10 schools to meet television agreements, but more importantly, to fill scheduling dates. The Big 12 already replaced Texas A&M with TCU for 2012. The Horned Frogs went from the Mountain West to the Big 12, bypassing their original plan to go to the Big East.

Missouri's departure to the SEC will follow the league's expansion plan of adding schools in new markets and states (Missouri/St. Louis, Texas/Houston). It also bumps up the SEC's number of Association of American Universities from two to four with the additions of Texas A&M and Missouri. Vandy and Florida were the only two AAU members in the SEC.

Andy Katz is a senior writer for ESPN.com.