BCCI sets up 3-man panel to select HP team

In compliance with the Supreme Court orders the Indian board has appointed a 3-man panel to select the Himachal Pradesh Ranji team for the one-day matches starting from February 10

Gurusharan Singh, the former Test player from Delhi, has been named the Chairman of the panel while Bhupinder Singh (Snr) from Punjab, and Sarkar Talwar, a first-class cricketer of long standing from Haryana, have been included as the other members in the panel. The two-day trial for the selection of the team would start on February 4 at the PCA Stadium in Mohali.

Two rival factions of Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association - one headed by Anurag Thakur and the other by Rajinder Zar - are fighting it out in the courts for the control of the Association. A Bench comprising YK Sabharwal, the Chief Justice, CK Thakker and RV Raveendran had on January 30 directed the Indian board to appoint a three-member panel to select the Himachal Pradesh team for the remaining domestic matches this season. The court had also stipulated that the Indian board "shall not included anyone from Himachal Pradesh" in the panel. As an interim measure, the Indian board would provide finance for the Himachal Pradesh team and the apex cricket body would be compensated for the same by the Association, which proved its credentials in the court of law, the court had said.