Dozen golfers withdraw from AT&T Byron Nelson Championship

Just one day before the opening round, the number of withdrawals at the AT&T Byron Nelson Championship has already reached 12 competitors from the original committed field list.

Jason Day, a past champion and the world's No. 8-ranked player, withdrew from the tournament Wednesday morning after experiencing dizziness on the course at TPC Four Seasons in Irving, Texas. That announcement came on the heels of Ian Poulter's withdrawal earlier in the day. Poulter tweeted that he'd suffered a strain in the gym and wouldn't play for precautionary measures.

Kevin Kisner, who has finished in the top five in three of his past five starts, withdrew earlier in the week.

Other withdrawals include Louis Oosthuizen, Jason Kokrak, Scott Gardiner, Chris Stroud, Alex Cejka, George McNeill, Neal Lancaster, Fredrik Jacobson and Will Zalatoris.

Perhaps factoring in these decisions is that the host venue, TPC Four Seasons Resort, has already been deluged by rain, with more heavy storms expected to pelt the Dallas area during some, if not all, of the four tournament rounds.

Among those benefiting from the withdrawals are a pair of past major champions: Ben Curtis and Trevor Immelman each gained entrance into the field via the alternate list.

Other late additions include Greg Chalmers, Charlie Wi, Roberto Castro, Andrew Loupe, Josh Teater, Vaughn Taylor, Tim Petrovic, Brandt Jobe, Tommy Gainey and Austin Connelly.

Scheduled to conclude Sunday afternoon, the tournament last had a Monday finish in 2010, when Day won his first career PGA Tour title.