20 teams to compete for FCS crown

The next three Football Championship Subdivision title games have been awarded to Frisco, Texas, the NCAA announced Friday.

The FCS championship games will be held at Pizza Hut Park on Jan. 7, 2011. It will be the culmination of a newly expanded 20-team championship bracket for the division formerly known as I-AA.

Frisco, a burgeoning suburb north of Dallas that emerged from a pool of several cities that submitted bids, is home to FC Dallas of Major League Soccer. The team will co-host the game with the Southland Conference.

"This is a great day for the city of Frisco, Texas," Tom Burnett, commissioner of the Southland Conference, said in a statement. "The strong community, football fan base and dedication to putting on an event that will excite the participants in the championship game is something we are confident we can do. We are thrilled the NCAA feels the same by awarding us with this championship."

The game is moving after a 13-year stay at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, Tenn.

"It has been a long time since I have been this stunned," Hamilton County mayor Claude Ramsey told WTVC in Chattanooga. "I don't think we left anything on the table, including the financial part."

WTVC reported that members of the Greater Chattanooga Sports and Events Committee, the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga and the Finley Stadium board made an hour-long pitch to the NCAA Thursday in Indianapolis to keep the game. The game is the biggest event the Sports and Events Committee brings to Chattanooga each year.

NCAA director of baseball and football Damani Leech said the decision was not easy, but "we feel the right decision and right place to serve as the site for the Division I football championship is indeed Frisco."

Jeff Caplan covers colleges for ESPN Dallas. You can follow him on Twitter or leave a question for his weekly mailbag.