Patterson wins second coaching award

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. -- Add yet another award to TCU coach Gary Patterson's trophy case. He was named the winner of the Eddie Robinson Award, given to the coach of the year by the Football Writers Association of America.

"I haven't seen many 0-12 coaches win those awards, so you must have a great staff, great players and a great administration and fan base to do that," Patterson said Sunday.

Patterson led TCU to its first unbeaten regular season (12-0) since the 1938 Horned Frogs won the national championship. The award is voted on by FWAA members. TCU faces unbeaten Boise State in the Fiesta Bowl on Monday night.

Patterson has won seven national coach of the year awards.

Other finalists for the award were Texas' Mack Brown, Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly, Oregon's Chip Kelly, Boise State's Chris Petersen and Alabama's Nick Saban.

Patterson, who has an 85-27 record at TCU, will be honored at a reception Tuesday in Newport Beach, Calif.