Texas-Arlington moving to Sun Belt

DALLAS -- The University of Texas at Arlington will begin competing in the Sun Belt Conference, effective in July 2013.

The conference schools voted Wednesday in Sandestin, Fla., to accept Texas-Arlington as a non-football member. Subject to approval by the University of Texas System Board of Regents, the Mavericks would depart their longtime home in the Southland Conference to join the Florida-based league.

UTA doesn't have a football program.

The Sun Belt Conference is slated to have 12 members for the 2013-14 academic year, including 10 in football.

Denver is leaving this summer for the Western Athletic Conference, while North Texas and FIU will leave in the summer of 2013 for Conference USA. They'll be replaced by Texas State, Georgia State and UTA.