The Sports Humanitarian Awards

ESPN Images

The Sports Humanitarian Awards celebrate and honor athletes, teams, leagues and members of the sports industry for using sport to make a positive impact on society.

Now in its sixth year, the evening, which takes place annually in July, recognizes incredible changemakers that are using the power of sports to uplift communities. An independent selection committee selects the Sports Humanitarian Award winners - athletes, teams, leagues and corporations who are taking on some of today's most pressing needs. An ESPN committee selects the ENSPIRE Award winners - those in the sports sector taking risk and using innovation to help the disadvantaged.

ESPN grants $1 million to the charities of the nominees and winners. In addition, the net proceeds of the event benefit the Stuart Scott Memorial Cancer Research Fund at the V Foundation, which encourages cutting-edge research for African Americans, Hispanics and other minority populations suffering from cancer. $12.4 million has been donated to the community on behalf of the Sports Humanitarian Awards since its inception six years ago.

2020 Honorees:

Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award (click to view link)
Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins

Sports Humanitarian Team of the Year Award (click to view link)
Los Angeles Dodgers

Corporate Community Impact Award (click to view link)
Burton Snowboards

League Humanitarian Leadership Award (click to view link)

Billie Jean King Youth Leadership Award (click to view link)

Joel Apudo

Batouly Camara

Ally Friedman

Javonn Islar

Chelsea Quito

Elijah Murphy & Niah Woods

Stuart Scott ENSPIRE Awards (click to view link)
Hilinski's Hope

Maryam Shojaei

Sports Philanthropist of the Year Award (click to view link)

Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation

Sports Sustainability Leadership Award (click to view link)

adidas (2019)