Fan voting continues through July 12 for ESPYS

NEW YORK -- Tiger Woods, Tom Brady, Kobe Bryant and Alex Rodriguez are the contenders for best male athlete as the ESPY nominees have been announced.

Golfer Lorena Ochoa, basketball player Candace Parker, auto racer Danica Patrick and skier Lindsey Vonn are the finalists for best female athlete.

The Boston Red Sox, New York Giants, Boston Celtics, Detroit Red Wings, Kansas men's basketball and Tennessee women's basketball are nominated for best team.

There are 37 categories in which fans will determine the winner. A complete look at the nominees is at ESPYS.tv.

Online voting continues through July 12 at 11:59 p.m. ET at either ESPYS.tv or on mobile phones.

Last year, more than 12.5 million votes were tabulated.

Woods has won 18 ESPYS, the most in history. Michael Jordan and Pete Sampras have 10 each. Annika Sorenstam has eight ESPYS and is nominated again in golf.

The Best Upset category includes the New York Giants, who upset previously unbeaten New England for the Super Bowl title; the Appalachian State football team, which upended Michigan in the season opener; the Fresno State baseball team, which became the lowest seed ever to win an NCAA title; and horse racing's Da'Tara, the Belmont Stakes winner over Big Brown.

The Arthur Ashe Courage Award will be given to 1968 U.S. Olympians Tommie Smith and John Carlos. There will be two other special awards as well. The Jimmy V Award for Perseverance will honor former Buffalo Bills tight end Kevin Everett, who was severely injured in last year's season opener but has begun to walk again.

The Best Comeback award will be given to Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers.

The ESPYS will air July 20 on ESPN.

Information from The Associated Press is included in this report