Owens in new version of 'Superstars'

Eight athletes, including Buffalo Bills wide receiver Terrell Owens, will team with eight celebrities in the latest reincarnation of "The Superstars," ABC television announced Tuesday.

Owens will team with Joanna Krupa, a model who was listed in Maxim magazine's 2006 Hot 100 list, when the competition gets under way on June 23 (8 p.m. ET, ABC). The eight teams will compete weekly in events including swimming, biking, running and kayaking. One team will be eliminated each week, leading up to the finals.

The series will run for six weeks.

Other athletes include former major league baseball player Jeff Kent, ex-NBA star Robert Horry, Olympian Bode Miller, former world No. 1 tennis player Jennifer Capriati, WNBA star Lisa Leslie, soccer great Brandi Chastain and freeskier Kristi Leskinen.

They will team with actress and former Miss USA Ali Landry (Kent), actress Estella Warren (Horry), "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" star Paige Hemmis (Miller), former "Baywatch" and "Melrose Place" star David Charvet (Capriati), actor and former North Carolina football player Dan Cortese (Leslie), singer Julio Iglesias Jr. (Chastain), and "Dancing With The Stars" performer Maksim Chmerkovskiy (Leskinen).

The competition is taking place at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas.

The original "Superstars" was a hit in the mid-1970s and featured professional athletes in a variety of sports. Pole vaulter Bob Seagren won the inaugural competition.

Miller actually won one of the "Superstars" remakes in 2002.